In 1990 the ASAA created the initial official State Championships when there were three conferences - Cook Inlet, Northen Lights and Railbelt. In 1997 The Greatland Conference was started and in 2000, the ASAA split into Large and Small Schools Division, In 2011, another division, the Maedium Schools Division was added.